B.PAC and Mazumdar Shaw Philanthropy Extend a Sweet Gesture to BBMP Pourakarmikas and Sanitation Workers for Deepavali

After four years, this initiative has evolved into a cherished tradition of both B.PAC and Mazumdar Shaw Philanthropy. It involves the distribution of sweets to express gratitude to all BBMP Pourakarmikas and sanitation workers, recognizing their unwavering hard work, dedication, and commitment to maintaining the cleanliness of Bengaluru.

Pourakarmikas and sanitation workers play a crucial role in building a better Bengaluru, contributing not only to cleanliness but also to overall health, hygiene, and the city's aesthetic appeal. Despite working in challenging conditions, their tireless efforts often go unnoticed. These individuals, by managing waste and debris, prevent the spread of diseases, reduce environmental pollution, and enhance the living environment for all residents.

To recognize and appreciate their hard work, which forms the backbone of the city's progress, B.PAC, Mazumdar Shaw Philanthropy, and B.CLIP Alumni Association organised a Deepavali sweet distribution event for BBMP Pourakarmikas and sanitation workers across Bengaluru. The Bangalore Political Action Committee (BPAC) inaugurated the sweet distribution initiative on 6th November 2023 at the Dr Rajkumar Glass house, BBMP head office, at 11 PM.

The objective of the event was to honour the diligent BBMP Pourakarmikas and sanitation workers, and initiate the distribution of sweet boxes to almost 31,500 Pourakarmikas and sanitation workers from all 198 wards. The sweet boxes were generously provided by Dr. Kiran Mazumdar Shaw, President, BPAC, and the founder of Mazumdar Shaw Philanthropy. 300 B.CLIP leaders, with great enthusiasm and spirit, personally handed over the sweet boxes to the unsung s/heroes of Bengaluru. Among the chief honorary guests who graced the event were Shri. Rakesh Singh, IAS Administrator, BBMP Additional Chief Secretary, UDD, Govt of Karnataka; Shri. Tushar Girinath, IAS Chief Commissioner, BBMP; Shri. Dr. Harish Kumar, IAS Special Commissioner (SWM), BBMP; and Shri. Sai Prasad Rao, Member, BPAC.

The pourakarmikas and sanitation workers were delighted to receive sweet hampers. Their expressions of gratitude resonated with the acknowledgment and respect shown for their hard work throughout the year. Shri. Srinivas, health inspector, Sarvagnanagara, thanked all Pourakarmikas, auto drivers, and coordinators, highlighting the event's significant success.

The event successfully celebrated the dedication and service of these essential contributors to the city's well-being. It stands as an example of community engagement and social responsibility. We thank Mazumdar Shaw Philanthropy and the B.CLIP Alumni Association for joining hands with B.PAC for the initiative and demonstrating commitment to recognizing and uplifting the often-overlooked members of our society. Not only does it reflect a sense of empathy and gratitude but also sets a positive precedent for collaborative efforts aimed at improving the lives of those who contribute significantly to the well-being of our city.

Glimpses of the Deepavali Sweet Distribution Event

Inauguration by Sri. Tushar Girinath, Commissioner, BBMP; Sri. Saiprasad, B.PAC Member; Raghavendra H. S., B.CLIP Program lead, Anand Prasad, Anand Prasad Vasudevan and other B.CLIP leaders at BBMP head office.

Shri. Byrathi Basavaraj, MLA of K. R. Puram, distributing Deepavali sweets to Pourakarmikas in the presence of B.CLIP leader Shanta Krishnamurthy and other local leaders at Ramamurthy Nagar.

Shri. K. Gopalaiah, MLA Mahalakshmi Layout distributing deepavali sweets to the pourakarmikas with Nisarga Jagadish, Anand Kumar S., Chandrakasin, Balaji, Anil, and other B.CLIP leaders at Mahalakshmi Layout.

Honourable Minister of Energy & MLA Sarvagnanagar, Shri. K. J. George distributing sweets to Pourakarmikas at Kacharakanahalli with B.CLIP leader Danish Ali.

Shri. C. K. Ramamurthy, MLA, Jayanagar distributed sweet boxes to the Pourakarmikas at Byrasandra, B.CLIP leaders Saravana S., Santhosh Bhat & Chinnagiriyappa were also present.

Shri. R. Ashok, MLA Padmanabhanagar, distributed sweet boxes to the pourakarmikas, B.CLIP leader K. Chandrashekar and other local leaders were also present.

Shri. R. Munirathna, MLA Rajarajeshwari Nagar distributing sweet boxes to the pourakarmikas at Laggere. B.CLIP leaders Jayalakshmi karthik, S. G. Veeranna, Ganesh Prasad, Santhosh, & other local leaders were present.

Shri. S. T. Somashekar, MLA Yeshwanthpura distributed sweet boxes to the pourakarmikas at Hemmigepura. B.CLIP leaders Anupama, Satish Rajan, and other local leaders were present.

Shri. L Ravisubramaniam, MLA Girinagar distributing sweet boxes to the pourakarmikas at Girinagar. B.CLIP Leader Vandana Shastry, B.PAC Member Anand Teertha & B.PAC program coordinator Raghavendra H. S. were present.

Shri. L. Suresh Kumar, MLA Rajajinagar distributing sweet boxes to the pourakarmikas at Prakash Nagar. B.CLIP Leader Devika along with other local leaders were present.

  • Vijayavani

  • Vijayavani

  • E sanje

  • E sanje

  • Indu Sanje

  • Prajavahini

  • Times of Karnataka