

B.PAC endorses candidates from Bangalore for Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Bangalore, Sunday, April 14, 2019:

Bangalore Political Action Committee (B.PAC), a citizen's group working with an aim for better governance in Bengaluru and to enhance the quality of life of every citizen, today announced the names of six candidates who met B.PAC's endorsement criteria for three parliamentary constituencies in Bengaluru city for the Lok Sabha Elections 2019.

78 candidates are contesting for the three Parliamentary Constituencies, namely Bangalore North, Central and South and twelve candidates from across the political spectrum made it to the final list.

The endorsement process consisted of on an exhaustive review of the following:

- Performance as MP, Union & state Minister, MLA, MLC through constituency and expert opinion survey undertaken by B.PAC
- Details of Assets & legal cases (as per affidavits filed with the EC and search of publicly available information)
- Alignment with citizens' perception of key issues affecting their constituencies based on Constituency survey of 890 citizens in Bengaluru.
- Application of B.PAC Evaluation criteria

The key criteria encompassed a number of metrics from political experience, parliamentary effectiveness, local /grass roots impact, engagement with social issues, commitment to good governance and fresh ideas for change. Candidates like Mr. D.V. Sadananda Gowda, Mr. P.C. Mohan, Mr. Krishna Byre Gowda, Mr. B K Hari Prasad and Mr. Rizwan Arshad scored on political experience, Mr. Tejasvi Surya was considered for his potential to meet the aspirations of the youth.

B.PAC urges the citizens to exercise their vote based on their individual preference for matters of importance.

Last year B.PAC had endorsed 29 candidates for the Karnataka Assembly Elections 2018. This allowed citizens to make informed choices about the candidates they selected to represent them and also set a positive trend of the parties fielding better candidates.

B.PAC Endorsed Candidates during Lok Sabha 2019:

Constituency No & Name	B.PAC Endorsed Candidates	
24 - Bangalore North	D V Sadananda Gowda	Krishna Byre Gowda
25 - Bangalore Central	P C Mohan	Rizwan Arshad
26 - Bangalore South	L S Tejasvi Surya	B K Hari Prasad

Contact:

Sharath S.R | sharath@bpac.in |+91-9886196640



About B.PAC:

Bengaluru Political Action Committee (B.PAC) is a non-partisan citizen's group working with an aim to improve and enhance the quality of life of Bengaluru citizens. B.PAC's focus for the purpose, as per its Charter and Agenda, are good governance practices, integrity and transparency in all arms of the government, improving quality of infrastructure and the creation of a safer city where the rule of law is ensured for all citizens.

About Election Habba 2019:

Election Habba is an election awareness campaign initiated by B.PAC that celebrates the electoral process of our country. The campaign is designed to seamlessly connect all aspects of the electoral process that plays an imperative role in the formation of the to-be elected government. It also seeks active participation and involvement of all stakeholders i.e. citizens, local communities, civic societies, corporate associations, welfare associations, candidates of the democratic process, who so far have been working in separation from one another. Election Habba tries to usher in a new era of electoral politics with well informed and enthusiastic voters, leading to good governance through election of committed and responsible leaders.